Notable Winners From IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship

This past Saturday, Oct. 13, the IMSA Weathertech SportsCar Championship came to a close with the final race of the season at Road Atlanta: the 10-hour Motul Petit Le Mans endurance race. Among the winners of the event and the season, Connecticut's Whelen Engineering Cadillac DPi won the championship in the Prototype class. The No. 31 Action Exprpress Racing Team was co-driven by Eric Curran of Connecticut, and Felipe Nasr who saved enough gas by a consistently slow and steady late race pace to finish eighth overall, one position behind the closest title contender. But that was still good enough to earn the season Prototype championship - the Action Express Racing Team’s fourth championship in the last five years. 
“Literally down to the wire, it was unbelievable,’’ said Eric Curran, co-driving the No. 31 with Nasr, who celebrated his first IMSA Prototype title. It was Curran’s second championship trophy in the last three years. “Why did it have to be so close? But it came out in our favor. Just an unbelievable day. Hats off to Felipe Nasr, my teammate. We had a fast car all day long, but we had to go slow at the end to not pit again. So, we went slow to win the championship. Just a great season. All the Action Express guys do such a great job and thanks to Sonny Whelen for 11 years of sponsorship for me. First year with Felipe and he’s such a top shelf guy and thanks to [co-drivers] Gabby Chaves and Mike Conway.’’


In the GTD class, Paul Miller Racing clinched championship after leading points the entire season with drivers Bryan Sellers and Madison Snow. A podium finish by Paul Miller’s No. 48 Lamborghini Huracán GT3 was all that was required for the team to lock in its first championship and at the end of Saturday’s race, the team met that expectation. Sellers and Snow – joined by Corey Lewis, who also co-drove with the team to victory in March’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts – finished third on the podium, the team’s eighth of the season.
For the GTLM, No. 67 Ford GT and Connecticut resident Ryan Briscoe came into the final round needing some bad luck by the No. 3 Corvette to win championship, but ultimately came up a slim 6 points short in second place. Ford, meanwhile, secured the GTLM manufacturer championship with five wins on the season between its two entries.
For more insight on the race and championship, visit IMSA.
In 2019, the Northeast Grand Prix at Lime Rock Park will host the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. Tickets for the event will go on sale on Nov. 15, 2018, with significant discounted ticket prices available until Dec. 31, 2018.

Our Partners