SpeedTour All-Star Race Driver Bio: Geoff Brabham

From conquering Can-Am in 1981 to dominating IMSA as a four-time GTP Champion (1988-1991) with 23 overall victories, Geoff Brabham’s career is a masterclass in versatility.


Successful in everything from the Bathurst 1000 (1997 winner) to the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1993 first-place overall), the Australian F2 and SCCA Super Vee Champion followed in the footsteps of his father, Sir Jack Brabham, while etching his name in the history books. The second-generation racer made 10 Indianapolis 500 starts, recording a best finish of fourth in 1983, and competed 23 times in the elite IROC, securing two victories against the best drivers
from around the world.


The quiet Australian won back-to-back Memorial Day IMSA Camel GTP races in 1988-89 in the Electramotive Nissan GTP. He unofficially set Lime Rock record in 1988 Tuesday testing in a Nissan GTP, 45.7-seconds. Always a contender at LRP, he finished fourth in 1990, third in 1991, and placed second between Juan Fangio II in his final IMSA start here in 1992. Brabham’s father – Sir Jack Brabham – was a three-time Formula 1 World Champion. Geoff’s son Matthew finished second to teammate Chris Dyson in a substitute role in the 2022 Trans Am, and won the pole and finished third in 2023.


As for Brabham’s proudest accomplishment? His representation in four motorsports Halls of Fame–the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame, Sebring Hall of Fame and, as of this year, the IMSA Hall of Fame. 


Witness Brabham‘s versatility and skill firsthand at the SpeedTour All-Star Race July 19-20 at Lime Rock Park.


For tickets to the inaugural weekend visit: https://limerock.com/events/speedtour/


About SpeedTour All-Star Race

The SpeedTour All-Star Race brings together an unprecedented gathering of motorsports legends to race at Lime Rock Park July 19-20. Gathering icons from Formula 1, NASCAR, INDYCAR and IMSA, the SpeedTour All-Star Race will pair all-star drivers with competitors from the Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli’s CUBE 3 Architecture TA2 Series to compete as co-drivers in a 60-minute race that will air live on MAVTV.


In addition to the SpeedTour All-Star race, the two-day event will include racing from IROC, Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA), Prototype Sprint Series Association presented by Hankook (PSSA), Canada’s Nissan Sentra Cup, and F1600 Canada.


For the full list of drivers visit: https://limerock.com/speedtour-all-star-race-brings-legends-of-racing-to-lime-rock-park-july-19-20/